Date with Death


Once I had a date with death. Death, I don’t know why, always fascinate me. I had lots of questions to be answered and I find more than I seek when I had a date with death.

Death was sitting quietly when I reached
I said,   “Are you Death? You are looking quite normal.”
Death replied,  “I am what I am. It’s people who see me differently.”

I asked,   “So who are you and how will you define yourself?”
Death said,   “I am the truth and I am your real partner.”

  “Everyone knows they’re going to die, but nobody believes it.”

I inquired,  “What do you mean by you are my partner? I never meet you before.”
Death said, “ I born with you. I am always with you.”

  “Your death is fixed at the time of your birth.”

“ It’s you who sometimes forget me, fear me and the worst believe that I am a solution of your problem.”
I angrily said, “What…I didn’t get you. What’s the point of reminding you? As you said, you are the truth & if so you will come one day then why I should need to remember you.”
Death said,  “ You are right. One day I will come but no one knows when that day will be.”

 “If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.”

I said,  “ Okay, I get what you mean. Actually I also know many people who believe in living in today but there is conflict. I mean some do good for themselves and others as they believe that they get only one life.

  “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”
And there are some people who do bad and they also believe that they are getting only one chance to live.
What is yours thought on that?”

Death smiled & answered, “I am impartial to everyone dear. I never discriminate between good or bad. I embrace everyone. It’s just as I told you most of the time people misunderstood me & you are also one of them.”
I annoyingly said,  “ I accept that I am fearful of you and also think many times to commit suicide. But it’s not my fault and I am not the only one who does that.

Death said, “ My dear, first take the responsibility you know what’s worse happen, no one to blame. Secondly, you know why you and others fear to me and sometimes even consider me as a solution.
I replied, ” No, I don’t know.”
“ Because they look me as an end. They think if they die then they get apart from their love ones. And some stupid also think that if I come into their life all their problems going to end but in reality all these things are just a myth.”
Remember what Chug Tzu said
 “Birth is not the beginning. Death is not the end.”

I said,  “Oh…That means there is nothing to be fearful to you.”
Death said, “ Absolutely not. Once you learn how to die, you learn how to live.”
“Means”
“Remember, I am always being your side ready to embrace you and keep saying to you pay attention and try to get the best of every moment because I am going to take you. When you able to remember this for yourself then you actually able to be more involved in your life while you’re living. You have no time to waste, you don’t feel any need to be like someone else, you are able to accept yourself and others as they are. Eventually you learn to live by learning to die.”
Most people die before I came to embrace them. They lose all the charm, enthusiasm and passion for life. That thing even makes me sad.

I said cheerfully,  “Oh ..Now I understand everything & able to know you in a much better way. But I have a last question.”
Death asked, “What’s that?”

I said, “ So are you going to embrace me ?”
Death smiled & said, “ No, not now. Your time doesn’t come yet.”

I said, “Hmmm….. But I will not die even after you embrace me.”
This time death look at me bewilderingly
You know why……. TO LIVE IN HEARTS WE LEAVE BEHIND IS NOT TO DIE.

 

Butterfly-Girl-1

Let life be as beautiful as summer flowers
And death as beautiful as autumn leaves.
~Rabindranath Tagore

This entry was posted in INSPIRATION and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Date with Death

  1. gita4elamats says:

    Reblogged this on poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom and commented:
    WONDERFUL!

  2. Ajay Gabrani says:

    Yes,U R Right The Fear Of Death Is The Worst Thing In Life Bcoz Of That Fear We Can’t Achieve Anything In Our Life…..

  3. bliss steps says:

    ~ Hi Supriya, this is an eye opener esp. for people who just live their lives without a purpose. Death is certain and you are right, it will come to us and embrace us — mostly, when we are not ready. Actually, what I am afraid of is not death, but the thought of living a life without a meaning. Wonderful post there! Btw, have you done a bucket list even for fun? Time to celebrate and remember the good things in life. Cheers! 🙂

    • supriya says:

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog, read my post & above all gave your precious comments. Yes, it is true a life without meaning & purpose is worst than Death. Thank God at last I found my purpose.:)
      Yes, I made bucket list many times & day by day it getting long 😀
      Life is indeed beautiful & I am trying to live it fully & as Rabindranath Tagore said
      “Let life be as beautiful as summer flowers
      And death as beautiful as autumn leaves.”

Leave a Reply

