Iconic Temple of India


Writing on religion is a difficult thing for me as there is so many beliefs or say concept regarding it and I also feel it is a touchy subject. We can discuss about it as much as we want but I am not here to do that. Today I am going to write for weekly writing challenge – Iconic for that I need to write something about the photo which I am going to share here.

Like most young people,I also did  test everything on my logic. As far as I learned, experienced and understand religion I can say I am more a spiritual person than a religious one. For me HUMANITY is the biggest religion above that everything is superficial.

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.”

In India you can find countless stories about religion, spirituality & God. It is a mysterious place and I love mysteries. What I understand is that we all created by one hand & it doesn’t matter by which name you call him/her. I am HINDU by birth in my religion I was taught that we should always see the almighty in every living beings. We worship not only GOD/GODDESS but also plants and animal.

Now comes to today’s topic ICONIC temple of India. First watch few photographs taken by me.
P1000831In this photo you can see my cousin’s son standing in a temple with lots of rats. This temple is situated in Deshnoke  Bikaner (Rajasthan, India). The temple is famous for its rats, which are treated as sacred and given protection in the temple. This could be an astonishing thing to believe if you never been there.

The name of this temple is KARNI MATA. It is  at Deshnoke, 30 km from Bikaner, India. The temple is famous for the approximately 20,000 Black Rats that live, and are revered in, the temple.images (2)Out of all of the thousands of rats in the temple, there are a few white rats, which are considered to be especially holy.
It was an incredible experience for me. A rat which is known for  its ability to spread plague are worshiped by Indians in this temple.
DSC02891I tried to understand it but fail to do so. As  Saint Augustine said, “God is not what you imagine or what you think you understand.  If you understand you have failed.”

Anyways as I said it all about humanity that matter the most. Its shows that everything and everyone deserve our kindness, respect and love and all these are name of feeling as once Paul Frost said, “What do you think of God,” the teacher asked.  After a pause, the young pupil replied, “He’s not a think, he’s a feel.”

DSC02898

This entry was posted in LIFE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Iconic Temple of India

  1. Hardik Gohil says:

    I’ve visited this temple. Amazing to see thousands of rats… 🙂

  2. Ajay Gabrani says:

    God Is Everywhere We Just Need The Inner Eyes To See It… 🙂

  3. Just Patty says:

    Very well written! I enjoyed it!

  4. ectrainingnetwork says:

    Supriya, This is sooooo beautiful. I particularly love  your quote by Paul Frost, “He’s not a think … He’s a feel!”   BRILLIANT!! “HE’S NOT A THINK …HE’S A FEEL!!!” AND SO HE TRULY IS!!!!!!   Plesae keep it up. Errol Clarke.

    ________________________________

  5. Simply Me says:

    I absolutely LOVE your quote – “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.”

    I totally agree that when it comes to God, it’s not a thought process, it’s all about how you feel!

    What a stunning post, I loved reading it, thank you for aharing 🙂 x

  6. seeker says:

    God surpasses beyond understanding. There is much to learn about humanity and reading your post is only a tip of the iceberg. Now I have glimpse of what rat is all about in India.

  7. Pat says:

    Thank you Supriya for sharing your faith and beliefs. That’s what it’s all about in universal truths — coming together to listen and learn from one another on our different cultures and religions.

Leave a Reply

