A selfish man


Hello readers, a selfish person always considered bad or mean. But my perspective is a little different, we all have been selfish at different point of time in our lives.

Today I want to clear this concept of  “SELFISHNESS” with the help of a story. Hope this will give a new insight to all of us.

HAPPY READING”

shadow-570x413

I was super excited as I was going to meet that person whom I admire the most. Not only me but  I guess everyone who meet him starts admiring him for his selfless nature.

He was always ready to help anyone who asks help. He was a businessman but business was just his profession. His real work was charity. He ran many charitable trusts.
But after meeting him I realized he was the most selfish person I ever meet and that meeting also changed my definition of being “ SELFISH” and “SELFLESS.

When I reached at his place he was busy with some other people. They all were laughing, by watching them I can say they all having a good time together. After some time, we both got time to chat.

I said, “ It’s my privilege to meet a person like you. I really admire you and the way you selflessly help others. You are the most selfless person I have ever known.”

But the reply that came, made me surprised.
He said, “ Who told you that I am an unselfish person? In fact I am the most selfish person.”

I said bewilderingly, “What….?”
Don’t be shocked. It’s the truth of my life.
I said that I want to know more about him.

He said further, “Most people don’t know that I started my life as a poor boy that got his first job as a tutor. It was a difficult job for me as I was not a highly educated person. I went to my mentor for guidance.”

At that time my mentor told me.
“ Dear son, a child never able to give what he has never received. First give the gift of knowledge to yourself then give it to others. First learn then teach. Be selfish before be selfless.”

I paste those lines at my heart. I start doing all those things, which I like in that way I become a selfish man. And as you know I am a businessman, a real businessman never invests in anything from where he can’t get profit. An investment in yourself is the best investment you will ever make. It won’t improve your life, it will improve the lives of all those around you.

I said, “ I understand your point but I am still confused.”
He said, “ Let me clear your confusion.
You can’t give what you can’t have is my philosophy. How can I care for others if I can’t even care for myself.? How can I do good if I don’t even feel good? I can’t love you or anyone if I can’t love myself.

If I want to make other laugh I should know how to laugh at my won self.
If I want to inspire others, first I should be inspired.
If I want to spread the love then first I should fill my heart with love. And believe me it is only when you have mastered the art of loving yourself then you can truly love others.

And being selfish also help me a lot.
I asked , “ How?
He replied, “ It helps me to remember whatever I am doing is just for myself I come in a world of iron…To make it gold, this thought never allow me to be arrogant and that way I do my work humbly.”

For me selfishness is not a crime if we can be selfish like him.

Finishing today’s story with one of my favorite quote
“ Among the things you can give and still keep are your words, a smile and a grateful heart.”

BE SELFISH 🙂

This entry was posted in Love & Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A selfish man

  1. A really great post and possibly just what I needed to hear just now.

  2. Aadi says:

    I have to say that I like this view… A change of perspective…
    And now I can proudly confirm that I’m selfish 😉

  3. Hardik Gohil says:

    First of all Many Many Congratulations for the achievement…. I prayed for you that you grab the award and GOD listened to me this time. This post is as good as others. Keep writing….Keep Sharing… 🙂

    • supriya says:

      When I fail I like to take all responsibility for it but when I succeed I have many to give credit and your are one of them. Thank you so much for everything. Life is meaningful and beautiful because of you my dear friend. 🙂

  4. Ajay Gabrani says:

    Nyc Story I Like It…. 🙂

  5. hitesh says:

    Nyc post mem..

  6. vinaypatel4u says:

    Hi Supriya……..i m not so regular to reading….be it blogs or books…..but u also know that i appreciate ur passion for writing……u r one of the finest writer i have come across…u write frm ur heart…..keep it up.

  7. vinaypatel4u says:

    Supriya…plz mail me some short stories …..i want to make short films…..& i know u r the right person for getting good stories…..so plzzzzzzzzzzz help me.

Leave a Reply

