Awakening


Hello readers, today I want to share one of my personal experiences, a thing, which I felt many times but hardly give it any proper thought.
I got a nice feedback on my post “Iconic temples of India” and that gave me a chance to explore my faith and belief in God.
Yesterday, I went to a temple, as there was a festival in our country going on. I was supposed to do some offering and blow my head in front of our God but instead of that my head was down in shame, my heart felt a deep pain and it was full of grief because the things that had been told to me and the reality that I had seen was far different from the image which I had in my mind about religion and worship.

People were offering nice cloth to Goddess Durga where I saw a young poor girl trying hard to cover her half naked body with a tore cloth.
People were offering delicious food to God where I saw little kids crying for milk.
People spend lots of money on lighting those temples where I saw the darkness in the house of  poor.

I was unable to understand such kind of worship. God created human, and human created these religions, castes and discrimination. I don’t think in any scripture it has been written that God will be happy with such acts.

I would like to share a poem that can help me to express my feeling in a much better way. This poem is written by Rabindranath Tagore.

Go not to the temple to put flowers upon the feet of God,
First fill your heart with the fragrance of love.

Go not to the temple to light candles before the altar of God,
First remove the darkness of sin from your heart.

Go not to the temple to bow down your head in prayer,
First learn to bow in humility before your fellow men.

 Go not to the temple to ask for forgiveness for your sins,
First forgive your heart those who have sinned against you.

How well the poet wrote this poem! And how simply he explains what is true worship is all about. True worship is not when the worshiper blindly performs the ritual, but when the worshiper practices what God wants. Putting flower upon the feet of God will only a ritual if we not able to fill our heart with love for each other. Unless we purify ourselves first by removing the dark shadows of sin from our heart, putting candles or lighting temples will only be a ritual.
praying_hands
For me, my God has no name, no face, no form he is just a powerful light in which I can see my deeds in a crystal clear form. Now I can see I will get what I will give. And as Doreen Valiente said, “Let My worship be in the heart that rejoices, for behold,all acts of love and pleasure are My rituals.”

This entry was posted in LIFE, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Awakening

  1. Nice post.

    So as you experience first hand such selfish and discriminatory behaviour by well heeled disciples, what could you do as an enlightened individual?

    Shakti

    • supriya says:

      Thanks Shakti for your appreciation.
      Now comes to your question: what could I do as an enlightened individual? Firstly, I want to tell you that I am not consider my self an enlightened individual yet ‘I am still a student ” Secondly, I want to use a quote of Rumi “Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.” We can’t change any one’s perception, we can only work on ourselves and if we all can do this then the world will be a better & more beautiful place to live.

      Hoping my reply will satisfied you. Be happy, be inspired & be blessed 🙂

  2. mayankimd1 says:

    We follow traditions given by our grand parents, on same time we think that we can create a change…… recently a movie “OMG” depicts the same thinking that most of us think… just we have to learn not by words but from our mind and soul i.e ” Have faith, not fear” from god…

  3. Hari Varma says:

    Profound thoughts indeed! And I agree with you and of course I have always been a follower of Guruji. But don’t you really think Temples give peace to some people? Especially those who are brought up like that?

    • supriya says:

      First of all thank you for reading my post. Secondly I believe any place have its own aura which in the end created by those who live at that place. You can expience it by your own self by visit a graveyard and a holy place……peace comes from within.
      Thanks once again…..hope to get more feedback from you.
      Be happy be blessed

Leave a Reply

