Golden Watch


Standing alone in a corner, watching everyone having fun in the party. I was silently looking at him. He was the man whom I loved the most. For him I left everything and everyone. Life seemed beautiful when I was with him. He gave me everything. But now all this looks like a dream. It seems that a decade had passed since we told each other that we love each other as love was vanish a long time ago.

Though we still lived under the same roof but we were like strangers. Just like those people who take the same train but going in different directions. What was our mistake? What went wrong in our relationship? I didn’t know.  We both knew that the death of our marriage is certain so it would be better if we follow our individual path rather than be an obstacle for each other. On next Monday we will go and file an application for divorce.

I took a sip from my glass and start observing people in the party. That was his uncle’s 50th marriage anniversary party.  50th marriage anniversary sound funny to me, what they both had “Glue” which stick them together. I kicked myself mentally for thinking in such a bad way. I looked at my husband from a distance. He was looking happy but there was a kind of emptiness in his eyes that I didn’t notice from a long time.

I went to the bar to make one more glass for me. Suddenly everyone starts cheering, yelling as the couple arrived at the party. Old couple made me think. Is it possible to love someone forever? They both looked old but there was a childlike innocence in their eyes. Every time they look at each other their face light up like the first ray of sun.

The cake was ready everyone was waiting for them. But before they cut it a young girl asked, “ Uncle and aunty we all would like to know the secret behind your happy married life.”
Uncle turned towards aunty and gave her a kiss on her cheek and said, “ The secret is standing here. Being in a long marriage is a little bit like that nice cup of coffee every morning – I might have it every day, but I still enjoy it.
The girl again said, “ Come’ on uncle share it we all really want to know.”
The uncle said, “ Today I want to share our experinece with all of you and especially with the young ones. As they have different views regarding marriage.
I always used to say that we both didn’t choose each other in fact God choose us to be a part of each other’s life. When we got married we hardly know each other. At our wedding we got many gifts but the best gift was given by her father. That gift was a pair of golden watch. There was nothing special in those watches but still they carried the wisdom of life. On its dial it was written,Ur Beloved is waiting for U”

classical-Necklace-bronze-pocket-ladies-font-b-watches-b-font-heart-shaped-antique-font-b-anolog
We didn’t get what it mean when we first saw it. Then his father explained to us, he said,
“ My dear children, I want to say a few things on this auspicious occasion of your marriage. Marriage is a beautiful thing. It is like a house where not only your bodies but your soul going to meet and its up to you how you turn this house into a home.  Believe in these words that marriage is a compact sealed with love that cannot be broken.

In marriage you both get tested. You find out who you are, who the other person is, and how you accommodate or don’t. And a marriage can’t go without love. Love is more than a feeling. In love, the beloved’s welfare and happiness become more important than your own; as someone said real love is the accurate estimate and supply of another’s need.

Now I would like to say something about the gift, which I gave you. These watches and the sentence in it are a reminder for both of you. Time is the only limited resource that we all have on this earth. Every time you look at this watch its remind you like you your partner too have limited time and he/she is waiting for your love, time, care and attention. Use this time as much as you can.
Sometime say nice thing to your beloved, sometime listen sympathetically, sometime just know when you need to be silent, sometime work together, sometimes a casual affectionate touch, sometime just a glance, sometime share laughter, sometime the joy of making love. These all will be the real heartbeat of your marriage. Remember,Love is the greatest gift when given. It is the highest honor when received.

My dear a good relationship doesn’t just happen. They take time, patience and two people who truly want to be together.

Till that day I never leave a chance to say and show my love for her and she does exactly the same and in that we both just forgot how many days, months and years passed.

Everyone clapped for them. They truly deserve each other company for the rest of their life. I suddenly feel someone standing near me trying to hold my hand. That was my husband without saying a single word we both knew that we need our time to work on our relationship. We hugged each other and leave the party.

 “Love like there’s no tomorrow, and if tomorrow comes, love again.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Love & Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Golden Watch

  1. Rakesh Prajapat says:

    very nice

  2. Hardik Gohil says:

    I’m waiting for my golden watch 😀

Leave a Reply

